Foxy

The other day I saw a fox nosing around our back door with his snout uncomfortably close to our kitty door.  I wasn’t sure if he could actually get through or not – but I was slightly worried.  Clearly he could smell our cat food.  For my American readers, urban foxes are not an uncommon occurrence.  Despite the fact I live in a big city, I’ve actually seen more foxes than rats.

As I was reaching into my coat pocket to grab a camera for  a snap, the kitty door slammed open and my cat Fancy burst out of the door chasing after the fox.  Mr Fox is about three times as big as our Fancy and I worried for my little kitty.

I guess it was a draw.  This morning the fox was back and hanging out on our shed roof.

I’ve seen a fox on the top of our shed before, but this fellow let me get quite close.  Bold as brass, he is.  Despite the fact that I was wandering around our postage stamp sized garden and our cat was giving him the stare of death.

Glance of doom

I hope all this cat v. fox posturing ends with the fox moving on to someone else’s house and not with my kitty with her paw in a sling.

2 responses to “Foxy

  1. Have you seen him in the front window anymore? How big is the fox? Has Bill seen him?
    What does he think of Mr. Fox?

  2. The various fox families that have inhabited our area over the years have always known their place with cats. They keep their distance because a cat would win hands down in any fight. I notice the cats always try to sit on something higher than the height of the fox though – just to intimidate a little. Most of the time, they pretend to ignore each other. Quite funny to watch but they actually dont’ seem to mind each other that much.

Leave a comment